L-L Boys Track & Field All-Stars

In case you missed it, here are the all-star selections by Tom Gross who covers the Boys Track and Field for LNP.

The video highlights their pick for athlete of the year and we certainly could not disagree. In his final race for the McCaskey High School Track Team, Nathan Henderson saved his best for last, in what can really only be described as an extraordinary high school career.

Henderson blew past Carlyle’s Sam Affolder in the final strides to win the PIAA 3A 3200-meter run at Shippensburg University on Saturday. Henderson’s time of 9:01.77 is a new personal best. One of the fastest winning times in state history.


Following is a list of all-star boys from the track and field season, selected by LNP’s Tim Gross.

100-meter dash: Stanley Miller, Annville-Cleona (L-L League fourth place; District Three-2A champion)

200-meter dash: Jose Barbon, Conestoga Valley (L-L League champion)

400-meter dash: Jamel Henry, McCaskey (L-L League third place)

800-meter run: Derin Klick, Lebanon (L-L League champion; District Three-3A third place; PIAA-3A fourth place)

1,600-meter run: Jesse Cruise, Cedar Crest (L-L League runner-up; District Three-3A third place; PIAA-3A fourth place)

3,200-meter run: Nathan Henderson, McCaskey (L-L League champion; District Three-3A champion; PIAA-3A champion)

100-meter hurdles: Aanyah Bermudez, Conestoga Valley (L-L League champion; District Three-3A champion; PIAA-3A runner-up)

300-meter hurdles: Taraje Whitfield, Penn Manor (L-L League champion; District Three-3A runner-up; PIAA-3A seventh place)

4×100-meter relay: Manheim Central’s Jay Barreto, Brock Hochstetler, Kody Kegarise, Gunnar Royer (L-L League champions; District Three-3A 10th place)

4×400-meter relay: Manheim Township’s Jacob Gaydos, Anderson Velozwong, Gavin Patterson and Noah Tull (L-L League champions; District Three-3A fifth place)

4×800-meter relay: Ephrata’s Tyler Shue, Andrew Foster, Alex Morales and Zach Lefever (L-L League champions; District Three-3A third place)

Shot put: Ben Viau, Manheim Township (L-L League champion; District Three-3A runner-up; PIAA-3A fifth place)

Discus: Zach Thomas, Hempfield (L-L League runner-up; District THree-3A seventh)

Javelin: Alex Scheivert, Penn Manor (L-L League champion; District Three-3A runner-up; PIAA-3A runner-up)

Long jump: Demetri Whitsett, Cocalico (L-L League third place; District Three-3A runner-up; PIAA-3A fourth place)

Triple jump: Juan Maldonado, Lebanon (L-L League champion)

High jump: Elie Basenga, Ephrata (L-L League champion; District Three-3A fourth place; PIAA-3A t-third place)

Pole vault: Ryan Carter, Manheim Central (L-L League champion; District Three-3A fifth place)

Honorable mentions:

Jay Barreto, Manheim Central

Drayk Cassamajor, Warwick

Caleb Christner, Warwick

Josh Eidemiller, Lampeter-Strasburg

Eric Garner, Warwick

David Martin-Robinson, Hempfield

Theoren McElheny, Penn Manor

Ezra Mellinger, Lampeter-Strasburg

Josh Nolt, Lampeter-Strasburg

Connor Shields, Warwick

Cole Sunderland, Manheim Central

John Wilson, Warwick

Track Athlete of the Year: Nathan Henderson, McCaskey

Henderson capped his high school career with a record-setting run through the postseason that culminated with a gold medal in the PIAA Class 3A 3,200-meter run. During the regular season, the senior showed his versatility, posting some of the league’s top times in the 800-meter run, the 1,600-meter run, the 3,200-meter run and making cameo appearances on the Red Tornado’s 4×400-meter relay team.

Field Athlete of the Year: Ben Viau, Manheim Township

One of the few medal winners to return to the throwing circle, Viau ascended to the top of the honor roll in the shot put and discus, setting school records in the process. He held serve as the league champion in both events at the district and state meets.