Vikings win Section 3 Title

The Northern Lebanon Vikings have won the Section Three title after defeating Donegal 67-4. This is their seventh straight Section Three title.

The Vikings are also the defending L-L League Wrestling Champions. They held that crown two years in a row.

The team knows that this is just one more step in the right direction.

“To be honest, we’ve never spoken about it in our room,” Northern Lebanon head coach Rusty Wallace said. “It’s a goal, but not the goal. We talk about the district title and competing at states. We try not to make [winning the section] to be more than it is.”

That is understandable, considering last year the Vikings were in the state finals of the team tournament and also won a District 3 Class 2A team title at the individual meet. They know success on levels beyond the L-L.

Northern Lebanon 67, Donegal 4

106: Brandon Breidigan NL d Ethan Herr 3-2.

113: Kyler Anspach NL p Jansen Flohr, 2:28.

120: Dylan Bowers D md Seth Fischer 9-1.

126: Keaton Bender NL d Jeremy Algoe 13-7.

132: Colin Leonard NL p Mason Ober 2:42.

138: Nicolas Winters NL tf Joe Fox, 2:49 (17-2).

145: Ethan Walmer NL md Dimitri Gonzalez 9-0.

152: Kai Whitman NL p Nick Grady, 1:38.

160: Steve Herb NL md William Small 14-6.

170: Blaise Bressler NL p Tyan Stalnecker, 4:34.

182: Luis Negrerios NL p Elliott Burnette, :36.

195: Brendan Madeira NL won by forfeit.

220: Cole Messimer NL won by forfeit.

285: Kyle Sonner NL won by forfeit.